Here are the biggest questions. We’ll be adding/updating/editing them as we go. If you have a question we didn’t address, just add it as a comment!
Who goes first in Contested Risks?
Whoever has the most Raises spends the first Raise. By the way, we are re-designing contested risks in a big way. You should see something soon.
What if a player/GM uses a rule to be a jerk?
Sorry, I can’t fix that, and honestly, that’s the GM’s job. She maintains the order at the table. To quote our friend Jesse Heinig, “Best you can do is encourage desired behaviors and discourage unwanted ones.”
What does the “Reroll” tag at the bottom of the Skills list mean?
It means that, if you have at least two Ranks in a Skill, you can reroll one die every time you make a Risk using that Skill. If you had at least four Rank in a Skill, you could reroll two dice every time you made a Risk, but in the Quickstart, nobody has four Ranks yet.
Do the Heroes get 2 bonus dice against a Villain when the Villain has two Dramatic Wounds?
Nope. Villains just keep on tickin’ until you knock ‘em down.
When you reach your third Dramatic Wound, is it just nines that count as tens, or do you now only require a total of nine to make a Raise?
Your 9’s count as 10’s on the dice. To make Raises, you still need to make a total of 10.
Can Keen Senses be used for eavesdropping?
Can another Hero aid a dueling Hero by spending a Hero Point (such as shouting encouragement or yelling advice, or insulting their opponent)?
When performing a Duel Maneuver, does it cost 1 Raise for the Maneuver itself?
No. If you spend 3 Raises to slash, your opponent takes 3 Wounds. There is no “start up cost.”
It seems to me that the hero point system is designed so a player never uses their own hero points, but need to coordinate with the rest of the group and share them. Is that correct?
I wouldn’t say “never uses their own,” but a single Hero Point from your friends is worth more than a single Hero Point from yourself. It’s important to remember that you can only receive a single Hero Point from another Hero to help you in a Risk. You can use as many of your own as you want.
There are some other factors at play, however. The person giving you the Hero Point does need to play into the Risk in some way, even if it is only emotional or inspirational. They also have to have a Hero Point to give you, or one that they are willing to give; you can only receive Hero Points from other players to get bonus dice, not to activate effects. So if I really need to use my Second Story Work here in a second, I can’t afford to give you my Hero Point so that you can get dice.
Will there be a guide to convert characters from original 7th Sea to the new system?
Probably. If you want to play an experienced character from 1st Edition to 2nd Edition, use John’s Unofficial Conversion Rules:
- Make the character you want to play.
- If you have any questions, see Rule 1.
I have a question you haven’t answered. Can you answer it?
Yes! Send us the question and we’ll do our best to answer it quickly and concisely.